Hello “Big Durian”: Jakarta, Indonesia

After being sick (stomach issues) for a good week at project, I left for more adventures.  This time it was in the massive city of Jakarta.  Entering into Indonesia I can only stay for a month at a time due to visa requirements; but, I will be staying in Jakarta for the rest of July.  Then visiting family back home during August and then moving here until March.  I am interning with Kate Chapman for the Humanitarian OpenstreetMap (HOT) Team.  Basically I get to travel around Indonesia doing the things I love:  teaching, data collection, mapping.  We are in the midst of creating tutorials for Indonesian students and government officials so that they can map more of Indonesia.  This data will be used for better disaster scenario models and therefore more improved contingency plans.   It is an amazing opportunity and I am super excited for what is to come…

Here are some pictures of the apartment I am sharing with Kate Chapman, the Executive Director of HOT:

Leave a Reply

